The short answer: the best CBD dog treat states its mg of CBD per treat, has a certificate of analysis, and puts a dose in each treat that fits your dog's size, in a recipe your dog tolerates. We compared nine dog treats on 1 November 2026. CBD treats cost $0.95 to $2.13 per treat and $0.08 to $0.50 per mg of CBD, and the mg per treat ranged from 2 to 12.8, so the same "one treat" can be six times the dose. Treats work: in the only head-to-head study, dogs reached the same blood CBD levels from a soft chew as from oil. And two best-selling "hemp calming chews" list no CBD at all. HempMy Pet's 2 mg biscuits are handmade from eight organic, human-grade ingredients, with no peanut, meat or poultry. Below: price, dose and recipe tables, who makes what, the research, and how many treats to give.
Written by Marc Brannigan, Co-Founder & CEO of HempMy Pet. Last updated 1 November 2026. Disclosure: HempMy Pet makes two of the treats compared here, and ours cost the most per mg; the tables say so. Every competitor figure comes from that brand's own product, About and policy pages on the date above, linked in the tables.
Best CBD Dog Treats: Price Compared
Treats are priced per bag, but dogs eat them by the treat and the CBD comes by the milligram. Here are all three numbers.
| Brand / treat | Treats × mg CBD | Price | Per treat | Per mg CBD |
|---|---|---|---|---|
|
HempMy Pet Small Dog Hemp Treats, 2 mg |
25 × 2 mg | $25.00 | $1.00 | $0.50 |
|
HempMy Pet Large Dog Hemp Treats, 5 mg |
15 × 5 mg | $32.00 | $2.13 | $0.43 |
| Honest Paws Calm CBD Bites |
30 × 5 mg | $28.47 | $0.95 | $0.19 |
| Pet Releaf Stress Releaf Hemp Edibites |
50 × 6 mg | $48.99 | $0.98 | $0.16 |
| HolistaPet CBD Calming Chews, 5 mg |
30 × 5 mg | $34.95 | $1.17 | $0.23 |
| Lolahemp Calming Hemp Soft Chews, 3 mg |
30 × 3 mg | $32.00 | $1.07 | $0.36 |
| ElleVet Hemp CBD Chews, small |
62 × 12.8 mg | $89.00 | $1.44 | $0.11 |
| Earth Buddy CBD Calming Chews, 10 mg |
Count not stated × 10 mg | $40.00 | Not stated | Not stated |
| Innovet Soft Hemp Dog Chews |
Count not stated × 2 mg | $25.95 | Not stated | Not stated |
One-time list prices before subscriptions or bundles, from each brand's product page on 1 Nov 2026. Pet Releaf states mg of hemp extract per chew, not mg of CBD. Earth Buddy and Innovet do not state the number of chews per bag, so per-treat and per-mg costs can't be calculated; Innovet's listed ingredients also do not include the hemp extract its page describes. HolistaPet sells 10 mg and 20 mg versions at about $0.14 and $0.10 per mg; ElleVet's large chews (19.2 mg) are about $0.08 per mg.
The cheapest CBD per milligram is not always the cheapest treat to give. A 10-lb dog needs 1 or 2 mg; a 12-mg chew has to be cut into pieces, or it is six times the starting dose.
Dose per Treat and What's in the Recipe
For treats, mg per treat decides how many you give and whether you have to cut them. The recipe decides whether your dog can eat them at all.
| Brand / treat | CBD per treat | One treat = a 10-lb dog's start (1–2 mg)? | Spectrum | Main ingredients / allergens |
|---|---|---|---|---|
|
HempMy Pet Small Dog Hemp Treats, 2 mg |
2 mg | Yes, 1 treat | Full | Pumpkin, garbanzo & rice flour, apple, egg, coconut oil, mint, parsley |
|
HempMy Pet Large Dog Hemp Treats, 5 mg |
5 mg | No, 5 mg | Full | Same handmade pumpkin biscuit |
| Honest Paws Calm CBD Bites |
5 mg | No, 5 mg | Full | Peanut butter, barley, oat |
| Pet Releaf Stress Releaf Hemp Edibites |
6 mg | No, 6 mg | Full (mg of hemp extract) | Peanut butter, rice, pea |
| HolistaPet CBD Calming Chews, 5 mg |
5 mg | No, 5 mg | Broad (no THC) | Peanut butter, sweet potato |
| Lolahemp Calming Hemp Soft Chews, 3 mg |
3 mg | Close, 3 mg | Full | Peanut butter, ground peanuts, chickpea |
| ElleVet Hemp CBD Chews, small |
12.8 mg | No, 12.8 mg | CBD + CBDA | Peanut butter; glucosamine (shellfish), chondroitin (bovine) |
| Earth Buddy CBD Calming Chews, 10 mg |
10 mg | No, 10 mg | Full | Beef first, grain-free |
| Innovet Soft Hemp Dog Chews |
2 mg | Yes, 2 mg (hemp extract) | Labeled full spectrum | Turkey, apple pomace, pea flour |
Starting dose from the common 1 to 2 mg of CBD per 10 lb reference. Ingredients from each product page; flavors vary by brand, and we compared each brand's main calming treat. Of the CBD treats compared, HempMy Pet's is the only recipe with no peanut, meat or poultry, which matters for dogs on elimination diets or with peanut sensitivities. ElleVet's chews also contain shellfish-derived glucosamine.
Hemp Chews With No Stated CBD
Two of the most popular calming chews online, PetHonesty Hemp Calming Chews ($32.99 for 90) and Zesty Paws Calming Bites ($34.97 for 90), list hemp seed powder or hemp seed oil but no mg of CBD. Their calming ingredients are herbs and amino acids: chamomile, valerian, L-theanine, ashwagandha. They may suit your dog, and both carry the NASC seal, but they are a different product from a CBD treat, and they are left out of the CBD tables above. If a "hemp" chew does not state mg of CBD or cannabinoids per chew, assume there is little or none. More on the difference: hemp oil vs CBD oil.
Who Makes It: Kitchen, Farm and Research
| Brand | How it's made (as stated) | Grows its own hemp? | Study of its own treat? | COA public? | Returns |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| HempMy Pet | Handmade, dehydrated (not baked); human-grade ingredients | Yes, own Colorado farm | No treat study. Our 90-day study used our oil in dogs (CSU researchers) | Yes, every batch | 30-day returns |
| Honest Paws | Not stated | Conflicting: one page says "we grow", another says sourced | None found | Yes | 30-day money-back, ship back |
| Pet Releaf | Not stated | No, farm partners | None found | Yes | 30 days, store credit |
| HolistaPet | Not stated | "Trusted U.S. farms" | None found | Yes | 30 days, opened OK |
| Lolahemp | Not stated | No, a partner farm in Colorado | None found | Yes, QR code on bag | 90 days, keep the chews |
| ElleVet | Not stated | Contract-grown ("grown just for us") | Yes, its chews were tested in two company-funded studies (Deabold 2019, Wakshlag 2020) | Yes | Unopened only, at its discretion |
| Earth Buddy | Small batch | Yes, own Colorado farm | None found | Yes | 30 days, sealed only |
| Innovet | Not stated | No, FAQ says imported from Northern Europe | None found | Yes | 30-day money-back |
From each brand's product, About, FAQ and refund-policy pages and a Europe PMC full-text search, 1 Nov 2026. "None found" means no peer-reviewed study testing that brand's own treat turned up; several brands cite general CBD research instead. ElleVet's two chew studies were funded by ElleVet, and authors include paid consultants and an employee.
Best CBD Dog Treats by Need
- Lowest cost per mg, and the most research: ElleVet chews ($0.08–$0.11 per mg), the only treats here tested in published studies. Large doses per chew, so better for medium and large dogs, and they contain peanut and shellfish.
- Best for small dogs: HempMy Pet 2 mg biscuits (25 for $25). One whole treat is a 10-lb dog's starting dose, no cutting. Lolahemp's 3 mg chews are the other low-dose option.
- Best simple, whole-food recipe: HempMy Pet. Handmade from eight human-grade ingredients (pumpkin, garbanzo and rice flour, apple, egg, coconut oil, mint, parsley), gluten-free, and dehydrated rather than baked. The only CBD treat here with no peanut, meat or poultry.
- Zero THC: HolistaPet broad-spectrum chews, in 5, 10 or 20 mg.
- Calming blend: Pet Releaf (baobab, chamomile) or Lolahemp (tryptophan, chamomile, valerian, passionflower).
- Grain-free with meat: Earth Buddy (beef first) or Innovet (turkey).
Do CBD Treats Work as Well as Oil?
This is the question under every treat purchase, and the answer is better than most forums suggest. In a 2020 Cornell study, six dogs were given the same CBD/CBDA hemp extract three ways: in a medium/long-chain triglyceride oil, in a lecithin and sesame oil base, and as a soft chew, each at 2 mg/kg (Wakshlag et al., Frontiers in Veterinary Science 2020). The 24-hour blood levels of CBD were similar for all three, and after two weeks of twice-daily dosing steady-state levels were not significantly different between the oils and the chew. All dogs were fed wet food with each dose.
| Study | Dogs and design | Format and dose | Finding |
|---|---|---|---|
| Wakshlag et al. 2020 | 6 beagles; same extract in 3 forms, 2 weeks each | 2 mg/kg CBD+CBDA, twice daily | CBD levels from the soft chew matched the two oils; CBDA absorbed best from the lecithin/sesame oil. |
| Deabold et al. 2019 | 8 healthy dogs; 12 weeks | Soft chews, 2 mg/kg twice daily | Peak blood CBD about 1.4 h after a chew; bloodwork showed no clinically significant changes. |
| Bradley et al. 2022 | 40 healthy dogs; randomized, placebo-controlled, 6 months | Capsules, 4 mg/kg once daily | Well tolerated; a temporary ALP rise in just over half the CBD dogs. |
| HempMy Pet / CSU researchers | 37 dogs with chronic joint discomfort; 90 days, open-label | HempMy Pet hemp oil | 30 of 32 completers showed a benefit. Our oil, not our treats. |
So the format is not the problem; the dose usually is. Most treats deliver far less than the 2 mg/kg used in the research (about 9 mg per 10 lb), which is why a treat is best as a gentle daily support or a calming aid before a stressful event, and why dogs who need more often move to an oil. Our oil vs treats guide walks through when to choose each.
HempMy Pet treats, and the oil when you need more
How Many CBD Treats to Give Your Dog
Start at about 1 to 2 mg of CBD per 10 lb of body weight, once or twice a day, then adjust over a week or two.
| Dog weight | Starting CBD | 2 mg treats | 5 mg treats |
|---|---|---|---|
| 10 lb | 1–2 mg | ½ to 1 | Too strong to start; cut |
| 20 lb | 2–4 mg | 1 to 2 | About ½ to 1 |
| 30 lb | 3–6 mg | 1½ to 3 | About 1 |
| 50 lb | 5–10 mg | 2½ to 5 | 1 to 2 |
| 75 lb | 7.5–15 mg | Use 5 mg treats | 1½ to 3 |
| 100 lb | 10–20 mg | Use 5 mg treats or oil | 2 to 4 |
- Check the mg per treat on the bag, not the bag total. Treats range from 2 to over 19 mg each.
- For a stressful event (storms, fireworks, travel, the groomer), give the treat about an hour ahead; treats are digested, so they take a little longer than oil.
- For daily comfort, give treats at the same times each day and judge after two to four weeks.
- Split the day's amount into a morning and evening treat for steadier levels.
- Store the bag sealed and away from dogs. A dog that eats the whole bag needs a call to your vet, especially a small dog with high-strength treats.
Side Effects and When to Call Your Vet
At normal servings, side effects are usually mild: loose stool, sleepiness, or an upset stomach, sometimes from the treat ingredients rather than the CBD. Check the recipe if your dog has a food allergy, since most CBD treats contain peanut, chicken, beef, turkey or shellfish. The lab change vets watch for with long-term CBD is a rise in the liver enzyme ALP (Bradley 2022). Call your vet before starting if your dog takes daily medication, has liver disease, is pregnant or nursing, or is a puppy under 6 months. Stop and call if you see vomiting, wobbliness or unusual lethargy. More in hemp and CBD side effects in dogs and CBD and dog medications. Cornell's College of Veterinary Medicine also keeps a plain-language CBD overview.
Where HempMy Pet Fits
We make two of the treats above, so read this with that in mind. Per mg of CBD, ours cost the most of any treat compared, because they are small-batch, handmade biscuits rather than factory soft chews. What you get for that: eight human-grade ingredients with no peanut, meat or poultry, a gluten-free dehydrated biscuit, a 2 mg size that is a real starting dose for small dogs, hemp from our own Colorado farm, and a public lab report for every batch. If your dog needs research-level amounts of CBD, our 1000mg oil is the better value at about $0.10 per mg; see our hemp oil comparison. Hemp supports calm and everyday comfort; it does not replace your vet.
Frequently Asked Questions
What are the best CBD treats for dogs?
The best CBD treat is one with a stated mg of CBD per treat, a certificate of analysis, a dose that fits your dog's size, and ingredients your dog tolerates. In our November 2026 comparison of nine products, ElleVet's chews were the lowest cost per mg and the only treats tested in published studies; HempMy Pet's handmade 2 mg biscuits were the only CBD treats here with no peanut, meat or poultry and a dose sized for small dogs. Two best-selling "hemp calming chews" contained no stated CBD at all.
Are CBD treats as effective as CBD oil for dogs?
In the one study that compared them directly, yes. Cornell researchers gave six dogs the same hemp extract as two different oils and as a soft chew; blood CBD levels over 24 hours and at steady state after two weeks were not significantly different between the oils and the chew. Oil is easier to fine-tune by weight; treats are easier to give. See our CBD oil vs treats guide.
Are there vet-approved CBD dog treats?
No CBD treat is FDA-approved, and US veterinarians are not allowed to prescribe hemp products, so "vet-approved" on a label usually means vet-formulated or vet-reviewed. Better signals are a lot-matched certificate of analysis, the National Animal Supplement Council (NASC) Quality Seal, and published research on the product itself. Ask your vet before starting if your dog takes other medication.
Do vets recommend CBD treats for dogs?
Many vets will discuss them, especially for situational stress and senior comfort, but they cannot prescribe them. The research doses that showed effects in dogs were about 2 mg of CBD per kg of body weight twice a day, given as oil or chews. Bring the product's COA to your vet so they can check the dose and any medication interactions.
How many CBD treats can I give my dog?
Work out the mg first: a common starting point is 1 to 2 mg of CBD per 10 lb of body weight, once or twice a day. A 10-lb dog starts at 1 to 2 mg, which is one 2 mg treat; a 50-lb dog starts at 5 to 10 mg, about one or two 5 mg treats. Read the mg per treat on the label, because treats on the market range from 2 to over 19 mg each. Full chart: CBD dosage by weight.
Can a dog overdose on CBD treats?
CBD has a wide safety margin in dogs, but eating a whole bag can cause vomiting, diarrhea, drowsiness or wobbliness, and full-spectrum treats carry trace THC. In a 6-month study, healthy dogs tolerated 4 mg/kg of CBD daily. If your dog eats a bag of treats, call your vet or an animal poison line, especially for small dogs or high-strength treats.
How long do CBD treats take to work in dogs?
Usually 30 to 90 minutes, a little slower than oil given by mouth because the treat has to be digested. For storms, fireworks or travel, give the treat about an hour ahead. For everyday comfort, give treats daily and judge the result after two to four weeks.
Do hemp calming chews contain CBD?
Not always. Several best-selling "hemp" calming chews list only hemp seed powder or hemp seed oil and no mg of CBD; their calming ingredients are things like chamomile, L-theanine and valerian. If the label does not state mg of CBD or cannabinoids per chew, assume there is little or none.
Are CBD treats safe to give every day?
Daily use was well tolerated in controlled studies: 12 weeks of twice-daily CBD chews in dogs (Deabold 2019) and 6 months of daily CBD (Bradley 2022). The lab change vets watch for is a rise in the liver enzyme ALP. Ask your vet about bloodwork if your dog is on long-term CBD or other medication.
What are the best CBD treats for small dogs?
Look for a low mg per treat so one whole treat is a starting dose. At 1 to 2 mg per 10 lb, a 10-lb dog needs 1 to 2 mg, so a 2 mg or 3 mg treat fits; with 5 mg or larger treats you would be cutting pieces. HempMy Pet's 2 mg small-dog biscuits and Lolahemp's 3 mg chews were the lowest-dose CBD treats in our comparison. HempMy Pet's biscuits are handmade from eight organic, human-grade ingredients, with no peanut, meat or poultry.
What is the most trusted brand of CBD for dogs?
Trust comes from evidence you can check, not reviews: a current COA for your batch, the NASC Quality Seal, research on the brand's own product, and clear refund terms. In our comparison ElleVet had the most product-specific research, Honest Paws and Pet Releaf carry NASC and USDA Organic seals, and HempMy Pet grows its own hemp and published a 90-day study of its oil in dogs.
The Short Version
- Read mg of CBD per treat: treats range from 2 to over 19 mg each, so "one treat" means very different doses.
- Soft chews and oil reached the same blood CBD levels in the only head-to-head study.
- Per mg, ElleVet was cheapest ($0.08–$0.11); HempMy Pet cost the most ($0.43–$0.50) for a handmade, peanut-free, meat-free biscuit.
- For small dogs, pick a 2 or 3 mg treat so one treat is a starting dose.
- Some "hemp calming chews" contain no stated CBD; check the label.
Shop Hemp Dog Treats → CBD Oil vs Treats
How to Use Hemp Dog Treats · Oil vs Treats · CBD Dosage for Dogs · Dog Anxiety · Best Hemp Oil for Dogs · Best CBD Oil for Cats · Best CBD Oil for Horses
Marc co-founded HempMy Pet in 2016 with his business partner Natalie Mondine, the company's COO. HempMy Pet breeds its own hemp genetics, grows them on its own Colorado farm, and formulates every batch in-house under human-grade standards — seed to sale, nothing sourced overseas. Every batch is third-party tested and the certificates of analysis are published. He is not a veterinarian. More about us.
HempMy Pet ran its own 90-day study of 37 dogs with chronic joint discomfort, overseen by Dr. Robin Downing, DVM, MS with Lori Kogan, Ph.D. and Peter W. Hellyer, DVM of Colorado State University. Of the 32 that completed it, 30 showed a benefit. It tested our oil, not our treats, and was an open-label pilot with no control group. Read the methodology.
How we compared: prices, counts, mg per treat, ingredients, sourcing and refund terms are from each brand's own product, About, FAQ and policy pages on 1 November 2026 (product pages linked in the tables); study status is from a Europe PMC full-text search, checking which product each study actually tested. Research figures are from the papers linked in the text (Wakshlag 2020, Deabold 2019, Bradley 2022). This article is general information for dog owners, not veterinary advice, and is reviewed as prices and evidence change.
These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. These products are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. This article is general information, not veterinary advice. If your dog is unwell, contact your veterinarian.